Lower-abv Nebbiolo

Got a Piemonte trip planned with the wife in November of this year and I’m a Nebbiolo newbie. Most of my knowledge and enthusiasm up to this point has been France-focused (Beaujolais, Champagne, Loire, Red Burg) but I have had a few old bottles of Nebbiolo that I loved so I know it’s possible. Looking for visitable producer recommendations that might fit these parameters:

• Sub-14% abv. I know that pretty much rules out Barolo/Barbaresco these days.
  • Minimal or no new oak.

Are there any Nebbiolo producers in the region that manage to keep abvs lower? Maybe Alto Piemonte or Langhe Nebbiolo?

Fun topic :popcorn:

I’m trying to remember the legal min alc% for Barbaresco and Barolo, and I recall it’s either 13% or 13.5% and it’s possible to find some at 13.5%, but sadly not that many. Perhaps some Langhe nebbiolo might be a fraction lighter in alcohol.

Roero worth checking, but I think it’s alc% is pretty similar to Barolo and Barbaresco DOCG.

Ghemme, Gattinara, Fara, Costa della sesia and the other tiny DOCs along the Sesia river are often a little lighter in alc% with from memory 13.5% being reasonably common. Not sure what min % is

Best bet of all though will be to head further north, initially to Carema and then further north into Valle d’aosta for Donnas.

Also a hop across into Valtellina will also find some lower alc% nebbiolo, but avoid Sfursat / Sforzato, as these are higher alc wines made by drying the ripe grapes.

It’s something of a delicate balancing act, as whilst I get frustrated with 15+% Barolo and Barbaresco that can too often be heavy / ponderous, 12-12.5% can also be a bit of a shock to the system with tannin & acidity, but without the textural richness offered by fruit & alcohol. If the fruit has enough depth, then age can fix that, but in youth they can be a bit spiky.