Wine Storage Question: Self-storage vs. Dedicated Wine Storage

Hey Everyone,

I am just getting started in this hobby and am already running out of space…I have about 50-60 bottles right now and expect to add another 100-150 bottles this year. We consume 2-3 bottles a week so Im able to balance my inventory pretty well right now. Most of the bottles Ive been purchasing are daily drinkers or some wines with age Ive purchased on Winebid that I intend to drink in the near future to figure out which wines with some age on them I enjoy. Most of the bottles Ive been purchasing that I would cellar are in the $75-125 price range.

Here are a few questions I have:

• How long can wine stay fresh at 67-70 degrees and will keeping bottles at that temp for 1-2 years really affect the long-term aging of a wine? Thats the temp at my apartment and I dont have room currently for a wine fridge. Most of what I`ve bought so far I have consumed within 12 months.

• Self Storage vs. Dedicated Wine Storage - Has anyone had any positive experiences with storing wine at a climate controlled self storage facility? I`m leaning towards finding a climate controlled self storage unit and putting a remote temperature sensor of some sort to monitor temp fluctuations/ensure the unit is being kept at close to 55 degrees. Trying to justify this to save some money vs. some of the wine storage facilities in Dallas (if anyone has any recommendations, please let me know).

I`m planning on buying a house in the next 2 years and will have the ability to store 150-200 bottles at home so I will probably need offsite wine storage either way for long-term storage.

Thanks!

Justin

I don’t think you’re going to find a climate controlled self storage facility that keeps their temp anywhere close to 55 degrees. Might be lucky if it keeps an average in the 70s in the spring/summer. From what I’ve seen they usually say a range of 50s to 80s for climate controlled self storage.

1 Like