What are your new kitchen toys?

If you like to cook, you probably like new kitchen toys. What’s new in your kitchen?

For me:

Nama J2 cold press juicer (revolutionary walk-away design):

Waverly CL4M mini clinical centrifuge (I’ve always wanted a centrifuge!):

Yes, centrifuged gimlets are in my future…

1 Like

Tell me more about the centrifuge and its potential uses.

The main use for me will be to clarify juices (hence the juicer lol) for cocktails, reverse spherification dishes, and the like. Not being a bar, I don’t need much capacity, and with a 200 mL capacity, I could crank out a liter of juice pretty quick.

As an example, centrifuging out the pulp and particles in lime juice results in a very different tasting gimlet.

There is of course the Spinzall, but I haven’t heard good things about its reliability.

The Waverly is just about the only affordable centrifuge on the market that has decent capacity (I’m a medical researcher, and everything else is hugely expensive).

A big improvement over my previous centrifuge, my washing machine (it actually does work lol)!

Ninja Thirsti Drink System (sparkling drinks)

50:50 Orange-Tangerine + Tart Lemon is fairly similar to my usual Polar Diet Orange Dry, although a tad sweeter.

1 Like

how is cleaning with this? I am at capacity for single purpose counter top appliances but I miss having a juicer, but don’t miss the cleanup

2 Likes

It has a top speed of 5,000 rpm? Is that fast enough or can you just run it for an extra long time? I seem to remember recipes in Modernist Cuisine requiring rpm’s in the 5 digits, but maybe not. I looked into getting one, but like you said, it was either something cheap that didn’t work due to slow spin rates.

I’m jealous, but can’t justify it based on my cooking habits right now. Maybe in a few years in retirement.

1 Like