Toscana, winter 2018

I’ve been coming here for more than 20 years, but the timing of my visits are usually later in the spring, and into summer. So, it’s fun, and also educational, to be visiting during such a severe cold spell, snowstorms, etc.

The area certainly needs the moisture; last year’s drought and boiling temperatures were very unforgiving, and in the case of winegrowing, noticeably destructive.

Podere Salicutti
So far, I’ve had a few weeks in Montalcino (centered around the four days of the Benvenuto Brunello event), during which I’ve had visits with fine people, gifted winegrowers, and just all around lovely human beings; all these qualities define the following, whom I’ve been very fortunate to spend time with:

Francesco Leanza, Podere Salicutti (an epic visit on a chilly Saturday morning, learning, in great detail the methodologies and vision behind the land at Podere Salicutti, as well as the approach to vinification)

Marino Colleoni, Podere Santa Maria (another epic visit, this time during a bone-chilling rain storm, with Marino giving me insights into his brilliance in the vineyards, but also in the cellar)

Andrea Cortonesi, Uccelliera (I rarely taste these wines at VinItaly, or any other event - I prefer to visit the cantina, where (bottle/service) temperatures are always correct. Which is another way of saying just how much I think of them, that they’re worth the drive, worth the extra attention. I’ve written about Andrea before, but really, sometimes I think I go just to be around the man - a lovely, warm and happy person. As always, chapeau Agnes!)

Luca Fanti, La Palazzetta (some of the area’s best natural winegrowing is going on here at this understated, and truly inspiring and beautiful farm. Luca’s always got a smile, it’s genuine, infectious and he’s just plain fun to be around. The wines here are totally under the radar, and the picture of traditional, sustainable winegrowing in a full-flavored, structured, and balanced way)