TN: Bern's steakhouse wine night

Some friends and I had a big dinner last weekend at Bern’s in Tampa, and we wanted to do a bunch of wine. I thought someone might be curious, plus this will save my notes for posterity. Here we go…

Seguras Viudas brut cava NV (2x 750): excellent start. Very soft and delicate but with some yeasty notes. We went cava instead of champagne to put some of those dollars towards later bottles. For a grocery store wine, this might become my new weekday night sparkler. Will be buying some of these soon. 14/20

2006 Weinbach, Cuvee St. Catherine, Grand Cru riesling (2x 750): well, I say 2x but really it was 4x as two bottles were corked, I’m told. I can’t detect TCA (lucky me!) so they were fine, but we settled on two bottles. Very nice. I’m new to riesling and still not entirely sold as, I’m sorry, they just all have residual sweetness that I’m not usually in the mood for. This was the oldest riesling I’ve had by far and clearly the best, but I’m not looking to load up on them anytime soon. Glad we tried it, I liked it, but I don’t think I’m a riesling guy. 12/20

2013 Didier Dagueneau Silex (2x 750: my first time having a Dagueneau and I chose this over Chave Hermitage blanc (a bottle of which is still the best wine I’ve ever had, so this choice was tough). In a word: great! It has the character that I search for in all wines which is difficult if not impossible to define; it was “smooth”. Easily best sauvignon blanc I’ve ever had. 17/20