Tell me about Gramercy Cellars...

(I generally dislike WA wine)

I had a smidge of their syrah the other night and thought it was pretty good. What say you?

Very well made wines including Rhone varietals, Tempranillo and Cabernet. I think Syrah is theiir strength particularly the John Lewis bottling. I find their wines to be very well balanced and food friendly in general.

I’ve had no experience with their wines…but think they got positive remarks from a friend…maybe worth a look.

They have a wait list so join and decide in the interim.

Having the pleasure of rep’ing their wine in Washington I will keep my opinion short.
Greg’s wines are to me interesting, balanced and distinctive.
Having had the ‘Idiot village’ recently I thought it to be very close in style to Cayuse with the Rocks funk, really delicious and balanced.
The Cab is very much in a cooler style showing more tobacco leaf and cassis than the normal Wa style of high toast and forward fruit.
If you would like to try an introductory to the style search out the ‘Lower East’ Cab or the very short supply ‘Lower East Southern Blend’, they can be had for under $30 and will give you a good idea of his style.

I had the 2008 Lower East Cab tonight. Nice red fruit and plenty of savory depth- excellent QPR.

Good stuff. Happy to open more for you ed.

Here are notes on some that i’ve tasted (for what they’re worth)

2010 Gramercy Cellars Grenache Olsen Vineyard - USA, Washington, Columbia Valley (3/12/2013)
Medium ruby. Slightly dusty nose with hints of florals. Palate dominated by strawberry and cherry. Hint of bitterness (?stems) on the finish. Very nice. 89-90 (90 pts.)

2010 Gramercy Cellars Syrah Walla Walla Valley - USA, Washington, Columbia Valley, Walla Walla Valley (1/23/2013)
Beautiful intense fruit but extremely well balanced. Secondary but definite flavors of white pepper and cedar. Almost no heat despite the intense palate. Great wine. (93 pts.)