Some California Riesling TNs

(This is my first time posting TNs; I’m a relative amateur compared to most people on here, but I’ve been tasting some interesting CA Rieslings and wanted to share several reviews.).

Union Sacré is perhaps my favorite winery in California for its dedication to Alsatian-style wines from vineyards along the Central Coast, stretching from Lompoc to the Santa Lucia Highlands. I’d been curious for a while about the difference between the “reserve” level of Union Sacré’s wines that’s included in the wine club and the non-reserve wines that I’d seen around at various retailers. From what I gathered through tasting room visits, the best barrels were set aside for the reserve wines while the rest were made into the non-reserve ones. Would there be a noticeable difference if I tasted them blind?

A few months ago I set up a head-to-head blind test with two orange Rieslings from the 2020 vintage from the Rancho Sisquoc vineyard in the Santa Maria Valley of Central California. According to the tech sheets, both were fermented on skins for 30 days, adding the orange color.

The Union Sacré 2020 Fragrance Riesling ($42, wine club discount to $34) and the Union Sacré 2020 Dry Orange Riesling ($22 at KandL), both from the Rancho Sisquoc Vineyard.

(Placed on my left)
Wonderful nose. Classic Riesling, a bit of petrol into off-dry cream soda. On the tongue a lovely initial interplay of leather, intense lime zest, and the classic Riesling taste (don’t know how better to describe it). Fairly acidic, but in a good way. A hint of tropical fruit and a bit of allspice too. Also feels more complex than the other wine, with each sip riding a clear wave of flavor, as well as seemingly slightly less sweet-tasting than the other (though they’re both very dry). This one rated a solid “A-” (92).

(Placed on my right)