Should I open or hold - 2004 Frédéric Magnien Chambertin-Clos de Bèze

Thinking of opening a 2004 Frédéric Magnien Chambertin-Clos de Bèze tonight for dinner.

Is it worth drinking now, or should I hold? If now, is it pp and pour or should I decant?

This was very green two years ago. I left the bottle with a friend and he said it was much better the next day.

what are you looking for in wine? Why would you want to open a 6 year old Chambertin? Look into your motivations and you can answer your own question. If it were me, I’d wait till the wine was 20 years old, but I’m patient and know what mature red Burgundy offers.

alan

Berry,

did your friend mention if the greenies went away on day 2?

Alan,

I’m a Burg newbie and picked this up at a steep discount a little while back. I figured it was an off vintage that might drink well earlier and give me a real taste of what GC Burgs can be.

Alan - Chambertin was famous and beloved for a thousand years before cork closures were even invented. Its not like young Burgundy has nothing to offer. Especially for someone exploring producers and vineyards.

Jeff- Sorry, but I do not remember.

reread my answer–I told him to look at his motivations, answer his own question, and then expressed that I would wait 20 years because of the potential otherwise missed. Where did I indicate that immature red wine had nothing to offer?

alan

A perfect answer, I think.

I apologise. I read subtext into your post that was not there.

Opened about 1 1/2 hours ago. Why not? I don’t try to many Burgs, so I figure I’ll give this a go. Will poor a glass after I finish my taste of Madeira. Will be paired with chicken with Morels in a sauce from Madeira, butter, shallot, garlic, cream, and cream fraiche. Hoping for the best. If it’s shut down and not showing well, I’ll just cork it and get to it tomorrow.