Rate of "absorption" with wet brine vs. dry brine

I’m not a scientist, so the use of, “absorption” is simply because I’m not sure what word to use when referring to salt permeating meat. Once upon a time, I created a basic liquid brine for some pork chops (water, salt, herbs, peppercorn, a little sugar), but I ended up brining them for too long and the meat essentially tasted like ham. While not ruined, they certainly weren’t what we were hoping for. This weekend, I bought some gorgeous heritage pork porterhouse steaks and decided to salt them and put them on a rack in advance of grilling. In other words, like a dry brine. I was careful to not risk over-brining like I did with he wet brine, so I only salted them about eight hours before grilling. They were great, but they could’ve used even more time.

So, what has been your experience with regard to the rate of absorption for dry versus wet brines? Specific to big, thick pork chops, how long would you dry brine?

My general technique has been to dry brine thick chops (~1 1/2") with a generous amount of salt about 2.5 hours ahead of time, leave out at room temperature, and then I wipe off anything that hasn’t absorbed before seasoning and grilling (reverse sear). I haven’t really played with longer brine times, but I’ve generally found that, if you use a good amount of salt, even just a few hours allows some decent penetration.

I like 24 hours 48 hours max. Any more and you go to the ham like flavors/textures you describe.
My typical is brine at night, fridge to dry. If meat looks lean, then sous vide for 2 hours at 138, then hot grill. If meat has good fat, you can skip the sous vide, but I personally like the texture better. Take care in caramelizing the fat as it can overcook the lean.

1 Like

Not chops but I’ve taken salt out of my rib rub and instead dry brine the ribs about 24 hours prior to smoking them.