Port/Seepage Question

I have very little experience with port, so throwing this out there hoping for some info. I have a bottle of 1990 Heitz Grignolino port (1990 Heitz Cellar Grignolino Port, USA, California, Napa Valley - CellarTracker" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;) purchased from a fellow board member a while ago. I noticed today while rummaging through my wines that this bottle is showing ever so slight seepage. A couple dried, sticky drops that weren’t present ~6 months ago. Fill is base of the neck.

I can’t find much of any info on this wine. Bought it to fill out a case purchase, but have no idea what I should expect. Should I pop it soon given the seepage? Is seepage less of a concern given that the contents are fortified? I’m familiar with Heitz, but not their port, so would appreciate any info. Thx for any help!

If the wine is getting out, then air is getting in, leading to oxidation. Had this on an older 1960’s VP and when poured was only and oxidized alcohol taste, and then down the drain. Did let it sit for a few hours with no improvement.

I have had many old ports with signs of seepage. If you have stored the wine properly and it hasn’t leaked that much I personally wouldn’t be too concerned.

IMO when a Port starts to seep it’s a good time to crack the cork and enjoy. I will say I’ve had many older bottles that have leaked and still shown well, but I’ve had far more that didn’t show so well.

Besides do you really want to sit on this Port for another 10 or 20 years only to later discover it was spoiled due to the seepage? And for such a young bottle to show signs of seepage isn’t a good thing.

+1.

Find a good time this winter and crack it open. If it was a 1963 Graham’s I’d be far less concerned than a domestic bottle.

Well mine was a '63 Graham’s, the seapage had the level down to the shoulder. Luckily I had a back up bottle of '70 Taylor’s.

Thanks for the great advice, guys. I’ll pop it soon!

Greg

CJ Savino,