Opening wine to let it "breathe"

Hello! I used to work in the wine business as a wine consultant for a high end retail store and restaurant. Early in my wine journey, I heard some folks talk about opening (not decanting) a bottle to let it breathe. I still hear and read about this on blogs, in amateur (non professional) reviiews and videos.

To me, the act of just popping the cork and exposing a minimal amount of wine to air does not allow it to breathe, aerate, or contribute anything to the wine. I read people saying things like “opened for two hours then decanted at the restaurant” or “opened to let it breathe before pouring a glass”.

What are your thoughts? I’ve never encountered a professional reviewer, taster, or winemaker who advocates simply opening a bottle to breathe. The science just doesnt support the purported benefits. Just to be clear, I am NOT talking about decanting.

1 Like

In many cases I open the wine and pour off half a glass to drop the wine level below bottle neck and shoulder increasing the surface area of exposed wine from the size of a dime to the bottle’s full inner diameter. This is what I call “letting it breathe.”

4 Likes

Don’t know the science, but I recently slow-o a wine overnight and I felt it showed better than double decanting it in the morning. What I did was pour a small amount of wine out, left rest of bottle uncorked at cellar temp overnight, and re-added the small pour to it (which maybe I should have). So I added air to bottle in act of pouring the wine, and the surface exposure (which I understand exposes more than just the surface to oxygen as fluid molecules… are fluid).

There is a huge thread on this complete with science experiments and nearly endless debate.

7 Likes

This issue was addressed by Alex Bespalof in his NYTimes column back around 1978. His tasting indicated it was of no value to open up hrs ahead of time to allow the wine to “breathe”.
The article must be out there on the Internet somewhere.
Tom