Nice / Marseille / Lyon

A non wine friend asked for a winery recommendation (to visit) in any of these areas? I have zero experience. Any suggestions?

@Russell_Faulkner any ideas?

Winery? No clue sorry.

Headed to Marseilles at the weekend though.

Thanks. Or any ideas nearby these areas.

From Lyon Beaujolais is quite easy. But I’ve never been to a winery in the south east. We don’t work with anyone down that far east either.

Sorry!

That’s a pretty large area.

Your friend has the entire Rhone valley to work with from Lyon.

Around Marseille there is the Luberon valley from rhone light, Cassis (which is beautiful) for light whites, and Bandol for red and rose.

I’ll let other’s comment on the Rhone bc while I love to drink it, I have not travelled there.

The Luberon is gorgeous and many wineries have an open tasting room. No particular place I would steer them towards, but it’s slightly before Lavendar season will bring everyone, so the valley will be relatively quiet. If they stay in boniuex, there are 4 vineyards within a 15 min drive.

In Cassis, the walk from the train to town is neither short nor long and you walk past the vineyards to the water. On the way to town is Dumon François which makes charming wines. When I was last the daughter had taken over for the father. It’s great. You can walk in.
On the hill above town is Clos Sainte-Magdeleine - well-known (KL), gorgeous and has good wine. Need an appointment there.

In Bandol, of course Domaine Tempier is where they should stop. Best to call ahead there. Beautiful place and family and of course the wines are world class.

I am not cool enough for the gold coast so don’t know much between Bandol and Nice

Closer to the Mediterranean: Clos St Joseph, Trévallon, Tempier.

North of there, you have the entire RhĂ´ne valley.