Henri Jayer

I haven’t a secret.
I just let nature take its course.
I am not a brave person and as nature does the work so well, I don’t see why I should interfere.

A great wine is crafted in the vineyard, not in the cellar.

We are in a period of interventionism. Everybody feels they must DO.

Low yields
Destemming
No Filtering
Minimalist approach

HJ encapsulated the notion of the principled purist who sought to create the finest wine with the least human interference…

Does anyone know of any resources out there that reference Mr. Jayer’s thoughts on the use of new oak?

Thanks in advance.

…Everybody feels they must DO.

Low yields
Destemming
No Filtering
Minimalist approach

OK…Kim, I am not an expert re Henri Jayer - so I will let someone else who are more qualify to talk about him.

But let me just focus on 2 of your 4 points of comments quoted above : which are low yields and destemming.

Point 1 : Low yields - I agree.

Point 2 : Destemming.

I believe Henri Jayer destemed.

But why not [highfive.gif] ?

I asked because…there are different styles of wine-making in Burgundy. Why limited to one style ( destemmed - even if it is your preference ?

Would you like to taste a matured Richebourg crafted by Henri Janer side-by-side with a matured Richebourg made by DRC ( which is non-destemmed ) ?

Plenty on that subject in the Jacky Rigaux biography of Jayer that was recently translated into English. Crush sells them.

Peter - Have you tasted his wines?

Keith - Thanks! Exactly what I’m looking for. BTW, have you tasted his wines?

I’ve had only one Jayer-labeled Jayer in my life, at Troisgros, but perhaps some other Jayer-made wines under the Rouget or Meo labels - only Stuart would know for sure!

I did …long ago …but then I needed to stop due to the price ( and rarity - next to impossible to buy them in Canada).