Gallo Made Another Purchase - Massican

Very surprised here, but Gallo is certainly positioning themselves as a ‘one stop shop’

https://www.sfchronicle.com/food/wine/article/massican-gallo-wine-napa-18334830.php?fbclid=IwAR1JUuFLQ13qAeX0hWmf0Gh9xssDB7K_Nlev4KbQkxrNhSXXpdtAGoKHymA_aem_AeAMzvmFR6GE1Ggu06rlnbPH6xUyw6UtNXQFvo924JMGaOcZccRHXvxOG0Qiq53KTMU

2 Likes

Wow, I never saw this one coming. Then again I stopped buying Massican the moment Dan started shilling wine NFTs… maybe I should have seen the writing on the wall at that point.

1 Like

Dammit

The people at Gallo have always been very smart. I’ve been enjoying Massican whites for at least ten years…high-acid, vibrant, largely un-oaked summer slurping wines. If the quality holds and I don’t have to pay for shipping, I’ll be consuming even more. Congratulations Dan…hope your ch-ching moment sets you up for something equally fulfilling. By the way, all us Wine Berserkers, winos, and nuts owe three individuals a huge debt of gratitude…Robert Mondavi, and Ernest and Julio Gallo.

3 Likes

Did you actually talk to him about it or this a default reaction to something you don’t know anything about?

Among his “shill” NFTs were a couple of bottles + a long Zoom chat about the wines/whatever you want to chat about which was absolutely worth more than the price, doubly so if going to Napa for a personal chat is not on the table.

1 Like

Jesus! I knew Dan was going to sell at some point, but not this soon!

1 Like

There are other threads about wine NFTs where this has been hashed out endlessly, but the whole space is scammy and I don’t understand why anybody would willingly associate their brand with that nonsense. It just reeks of somebody trying to make a quick buck with 100% margins.

Here’s Dan’s e-mail from Sept 2022: “we remain committed to Web3, wine NFTs and the Metaverse”. Well maybe not so committed, it turns out.

2 Likes

Congrats to Dan! I bet he celebrated with a special bottle of Barolo.

4 Likes