Gaja "on sale" as Chairman's Select through PLCB

PLCB’s Chairman’s Select program has a lot of selection but very few are really good values.
I was a bit surprised to see three Gajas on this month’s upcoming release schedule:

2005 Gaja Sori San Lorenzo ($199)
2005 Gaja Sori Tildin ($199)
2003 Gaja Darmagi Cabernet Sauvignon Piedmont ($99)
2005 Angelo Gaja Costa Russi ($199) (this added 2/5)

I am not a Gaja expert but checking on CT notes they seem like good values - esp for our wonderful monopoly system.

Any advice??

Those are good prices for those wines. But do you like them? That’s a lot of money unless you’re a big fan of his wines.

Good point Ken.

I haven’t had the opportunity to sample any Gaja wines. I do like other wines from that region.

I may try the $99 one.

Ted,

The Darmagi is Cabernet. He only makes it so that he can price his Barbaresco higher. To me it is one of the most pointless wines in the world. I can guarantee you will be underwhelmed for $100.

If you haven’t heard the story, “Darmagi” means “shame” in Piemontese. It’s what his grandfather said when he saw Angelo planting Cabernet in Nebbiolo land.

Is there no way for you to buy wine outside PA? You can buy a 1982 Gaja Barbaresco from Benchmark for $225 or Rare for $235. That would give you a much better sense of what the great Angelo Gaja is all about. His wines of that age can be majestic.

I have always wanted to try a Gaja wine, but spending $200 on a wine just to see what it is like doesn’t make a lot of sense, especially when you chime in saying that for a similar price better examples are out there. And as far as buying wines outside PA, it is very, very tough. Very few places will agree to ship to PA, and many of those that would ship to PA stopped doing so after that Supreme Court decision a few years back.

I have offsite storage in NY – so, yes, I can order from elsewhere.
Thanks for the great advice.

(See wineberserkers is valuable!!!)