Friday night TNs: Two from Pepiere

Kind of a crappy day at work, so it put a smile on my face to see a little stack of shipping boxes sitting in the garage when I got home. [cheers.gif]

First up, the 2008 Pepiere Muscadet Les Gras Moutons Cuvee Eden. Very light yellow-white in the glass, with a briny nose that speaks of the sea shore. Sharp acidity on the palate, with sweet fruit swelling up on the brisk & lengthy finish. This is my first time trying this cuvee, and on first glance I like it less than the '08 Clos des Briords, although I would also say that this wine comes across as very young right now.

Thanks for the note, not too many recent notes on these. I have six of these and plan to try one soon. I really liked the '08 sur lie early on and have been a fan of the Briords too. Plan to order my '09 pretty soon here.

Next up, the 2005 Pepiere Muscadet “Trois” or 3. Maybe even a shade lighter in the glass than the Moutons, but the nose has a richness to it that almost speaks to the extended lees exposure. Very nice nose. Another young wine on the palate, yet more harmonious and less overtly acidic than the first wine. Really extends itself on the palate, with a finish I’m still savoring as I type this. Even though it is a pricier wine than the Clos des Briords, there is so much class & breeding here that you have to think of this as serious QPR. I drink a lot of muscadet as a rule, and while I like it, I seldom understand how people think of it as a substitute for fine chablis - this however, is one cuvee where I could understand the analogy. Very impressive, and off this showing, more good things will await those with patience.

[welldone.gif]

Thanks for your notes on the Pepieres, Bob. I’d love to try the '05 Trois.