Chenin Blanc and "wet wool"

So I was reading through some of Jacqueline Friedrich’s tasting notes on various Loire wines, when I came across the following quote from her:

“On the downside, there’s that whiff of wet wool that I so dislike in Chenin.”

Excuse me? It seems to me that wet wool is a pretty fundamental descriptor for Chenin Blanc. I’m a big fan of Chenin Blanc (particularly versions that retain some notable residual sugar), but I wouldn’t call myself an expert by any stretch of the imagination (I’m a surly young student, at best!). Regardless, I’m not sure how Jacqueline can be a fan of Chenin Blanc (and she is), and yet dislike the wet wool aromas and flavors.

It seems like there’s something unwritten, but implied within her statement, that I’m not aware of. Can any of our resident Chenin Blanc experts help me reconcile her statement?

PS - Her website is http://www.jacquelinefriedrich.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;, and the comment is about half-way down the Wine Tasting Notes page.

Paging Brad Kane!!!

Maybe she enjoys the taste of Chenin but not so much the aromas.

I’ve only had a few Chenins, and every single time, I notice a waxy texture on the roof of my mouth. That’s the only varietal I’ve noticed that (Chapstick) sensation from. Don’t know why. If anyone has light to shed on why that is, please chirp away.

Hope you don’t mind me tacking on another question Jim, but I figured while we were on the subject. Thanks.

I’ve seen wet wool talked about as a fault related to SO2 or bacterial problems. Do you think it is also a varietal characteristic of chenin? Could it just be common in small amounts in chenin? Do you notice it more in dry versions than off dry or sweet versions? (I do, but I see some disagreement)

Jim-

That’s my take. If you have an issue with lanolin, you can’t fully embrace Chenin.