Cava? What do I buy?

I have zero experience with Cava,but my wife tried it at dinner tonite and loved it.Which one to buy? Help a brutha out! [cheers.gif]

Best bargain is Cristalino. You can find it for $7 at Whole Foods/Mollie Stones/Trader Joes/BevMo/etc… type stores.

I really like the Freixenet Elyssia Gran Cuvée Brut which should be under $20/bottle. The Freixenet Reserva Real is also very good, but pricier.

On the “high end” (for Cava), look for Raventos i Blanc “L’Hereu” Reserva Brut Cava…I believe they make both a “vintage” and non-vintage wine, both are great. The actual “producer” is Josep Maria, I believe, but the front label really highlights the “Raventos i Blanc L’Hereu”…It’s about $20, and quite complex compared to the “value standbys” such as Cristalino, Freixenet, etc., etc.

Have you actually tried the Elyssia Gran Cuvée Brut and Reserva Real lines of Freixenet?

You know, aside from the “value standbuys”, Freixenet does make a few lines of “higher-end” vintage and non-vintage cavas. The Elyssia Gran Cuvée Brut is around US$20/bottle while the Reserva Real ranges from 25€-35€/bottle. Not expensive at all in terms of gross price, but those cost just as much and even significantly more than the cava you mentioned.

Freixenet’s vintage Cava Brut Nature is pretty good - I liked their 2004 - for its price of only around 11€/bottle, so cheaper than the Elyssia and Reserva Real.

I’ll second all the above picks on the higher end freixenets, and would definitley add the Marques de Gelida wines, esp their Rose!

I found the Juve y Camps to be solid. Has an toasty character you get in Champagne that is often missing in other sparkling wines.

I love the Bodegas Naveran Dama; about $20-25. It is mostly Chardonnay so it tastes a little more like Champagne, IMHO.