Blaufränkisch and salmon?

Does that work? Or else I’m going with trousseau or poulsard tonight…

I am not an expert on Blaufränkisch by any means, but that has never stopped me from commenting on a topic before. :wink:

As I have read in a couple of books by Jancis Robinson and in articles in wine magazines, as well as CT and producers’ tasting notes, some Blaufränkisch wines can exhibit a smoky note in taste. I don’t know if this is favorable (are you serving fresh or smoked salmon?).

Otherwise, I feel like a good Blau can complement a stronger flavored, oily/fatty fish like salmon well.

Of course, please defer to the experts.

I could certainly see a lighter, Moric-styled Blau working with salmon.

Totally could work. Whether it will work well or not depends on the BF. But if it’s halfway decent, it will be fine. Should have nice acidity and a spicy note. I’ve had a fair amount and don’t know about smoke, but maybe she’s referring to what I refer to as spice. But real smoke isn’t something I’ve ever found, unlike some other wines.

I’d go with it. In fact I have. People have been trying to pair Pinot Noir with salmon for a few years now - I guess because they get salmon from Washington and Oregon and they decided to grow Pinot Noir in Oregon it’s supposed to be some kind of natural pair. It isn’t and BF will work far better.

It’s a possibility, but I think Trousseau is a better bet. Blaufrankisch can be a bit smoky and peppery so meat is generally a better option I feel.

I would do something else but that’s just because I don’t think anyone has ever made a blau worth drinking…so maybe my comment should be taken with an entire shakers worth of salt…