Big Names in Oregon Pinot... Really??

In the last two weeks I’ve had the opportunity to try two of the biggest names in Oregon pinot and both experiences have left me with a big question mark. The wines in question were Beaux Freres, Beaux Freres Vineyard and Domaine Drouhin Laurene - both where 2000. Expecting a ‘next best thing after Burgundy’ experience with high acid and maybe some floral or herbal qualities, I was very surprised to find a fairly masculine wine with not much acid in both cases.

So I have to ask: Is this what you get when you shell-out big money in Oregon - RRV/Sonoma Coast pinot?? [scratch.gif]

I’m no expert but I don’t think many Oregon fans would name those two as examples what they like about Oregon.

I would recommend trying things like Thomas and Belle Pente if you are looking for “burgundian style”.

Beaux Freres and DDO tend to be on the big side, at least until after age 10.

I’m with Cris in that there are at least a few dozen Oregon wines I’d go to before Beaux Freres for what you’re looking for, but even within that universe I think you’ll find them fat compared to Burgundy, at least until about age 12. The New World pinot region that’s most Burgundian in build is not in America, but New Zealand.

I guess the real question in my head is WHY??? Why plant in a generally cool climate and then try to make a ripe wine? Have they not heard of a little area in California called the Russian River Valley?

You’re correct. Unfortunately, BF and DS seem to get all the press, and it may be a function of their pricing. All I know is that I wouldn’t buy either one of them.

That’s good to know. I’ll avoid Kiwi Pinots! [tease.gif]

the 00 BF is still a very young wine. it might have benefited from a longer decant and a indoor taste away from the triple digit heat. that being said it is not a Burgundian style and certainly not feminine.

think robust power and not elegance.