Are Super Tuscans still cool?

I’ve heard that Super Tuscans had their moment in the spotlight a while ago. I also know that “cool” wines these days are supposed to be made from native grape varieties. So, where does this leave Super Tuscans? Are they as trendy as they used to be? Is this a good time to buy them?

I have little experience in this area, however I have become interested in Super Tuscans as a potential Bordeaux alternative. In your mind, how do wines from these two regions compare in terms of taste profile? What about value for dollar?

Also, some Super Tuscans are very Tuscan in their makeup by containing lots of Sangiovese. Others are pure Bordeaux blends. Is there an easy way to tell them apart? What do you prefer? What specific ones would you recommend?

These are lots of vague questions, I know. Just generally curious what you all think and prefer when it comes to these wines.

Thanks for indulging me!

Noah

No, they are not still cool. But I don’t think they ever were in the first place, at least not if you love traditional Italian wines. I always saw them as Tuscany’s crisis of confidence, trying to reshape itself as California. That crisis seems to have passed. Just my opinion, of course.

2 Likes

This is definitely a category that you have to do your own exploration in. I wouldn’t worry too much about whether they are “cool” or not. Find what you like. I’m a sucker for everything from traditional brunello and Chianti to really “international” style wines.

Just had 2001 Tignanello at about $150 after tax/shipping from auction and it was incredible. Still juicy, lush, but perfectly balanced and really complex and classy wine. Would put it up against anything.

If it’s from Tuscany I’ll try it, but I’ve never really been all that cool. Actually just bought 3 bottles of Tignanello, but that’s at the very high end of what I spend on wine.