A shamefully over-blown and horribly tedious Australian Cabernet

Evening lads and lasses,

Tonight I was out at London’s best meat restaurant (Hawksmoor, if you are interested, amazing steaks). Our hosts were supposed to be providing wine, but somehow (I’m not quite sure how they managed this), they forgot to bring it along. So I popped into the local wine merchant and scored a couple of wines: a Burgundy I know to be good (and very good value) and a bottle of well-reviewed Australian Cabernet which I have never tried before. Oh how I wish that state of affairs had been maintained.

Clare Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ‘Blocks Road’ 2006 from Kilikanoon was a type instance of over-blown, over-ripe, far to alcoholic and far, far too boring example of the Australian wine idiom. Smelling this lighter-fluid just left you exhausted, there was just so much jammy, stewed fruit and burningly hot alcohol. Tasting was even more tiresome, there was no beauty, no harmony, no charm; it just left you feeling over-whelmed and generally shagged-out. This was a fighting wine which should only be used for hand-to-hand combat. If anyone claims this would be improved with age all I can say is that it was clearly a wine for laying down and avoiding. I dropped £17 on this (~$28) and I feel I threw my fun tokens away on an experience that was not in the slightest bit fun. Even though our hosts and us are generally heroes when it comes to wine with top drawer bits of meat we just found this wine far too much like hard work and finishing the bottle was a chore. Wine should never be a chore.

Certainly there is a place for big wines, but they have to have a spark of interest, some balance or stylishness which moves them beyond being mere rocket fuel. I think Zinfandel does these epic wines generally better than Cabernet, the fruit profile is better and they can have good acidity. I really hated this wine, the only message it presented was: Beware.

I’ll calm down now.

Cheers,
David.