2020 Bordeaux Tasting for Inexperienced Palates

First: A confession. I have been buying Bordeaux futures at varying levels for several years (+/- 8), but I don’t really know what I am doing.

Likely my own fault, but I have not had access to tasting groups or local retailers with tastings or significant knowledge. But, we know we love good wine, we have a great place to store wine, and I enjoy the research and hunt that is part of the en premieur campaign. So, thanks in small part to subscriptions to several reviewers, and in large part to following several people on here on WB, I have jumped in with both feet.

But… I have never really tasted most of the wines I am buying because they are “too young.” I wanted to change that.

Specifically, I wanted to better understand the flavor profile of left bank vs. right bank, and within that, the profile of specific AOCs. And, I was curious to see how our tastes aligned with various reviewers at this early stage.

So, this past weekend I organized a tasting for my immediate family (me, my wife, and my three early-20s children). I wanted wines all from the same vintage, and roughly in the same price range.

The 2020s have just arrived, so I decided to go young, and start there. Below is the line-up. (I have included the EP price I paid (incl. shipping and tax: not trying to start a religious war, that is just how I do it), and a few reviewer scores, and the wine blend for further background.

Right Bank
Clos Fourtet, St. Émillion
$116
AG: 98 NM: 95 WK: 94 JD: 97+ JR: 16+ JL: 98
90% Merlot, 7% Cabernet Sauvignon, 3% Cabernet Franc

Château Clinet, Pomerol
$99
AG: 95 NM: 94 WK: 94 JD: 98 JR: 16.5+ JL: 98
80% Merlot and 20% Cabernet Sauvignon

Left Bank
Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion; Pessac-Léognan
$130
AG: 100 NM: 94-96 WK: 97 JD: 96-98 JR: 16.5+ JL: 99
40% Cabernet Franc, 34% Cabernet Sauvignon and 26% Merlot

Château Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
$109
AG: 95+ NM: 95 WK: 92+ JD: 97+ JR: 17.5