High End Wine Pricing - Would Dynamic Pricing Work?

Curious to hear people’s opinions. Becheur (and to a lesser extent de Negoce) has got me very interested in this topic.

I’m new to buying wine direct from wineries. For the past decade I’ve bought most of my wine from retailers like Garagiste and Wine Access. Some wineries, like Loring, I’ve been purchasing multiple cases for years but for the most part, just never got into it. I’ve been doing it since Jan '19 Berserker say (that’s what drove me to this website) and I find the entire business model behind high end wine fascinating. I primarily only buy Cabs so we can keep the discussion to California Cabs >$75 a bottle.

Wineries generally fall into two categories:

1. Waiting list and thus sell out all their wine with excess demand
  2. No waiting list, rarely sell out

There are a few wineries that have no waiting list or a very short waiting list that still sell out all their wine within a few weeks of being put on sale. For now, let’s put those aside.

For wineries that fit #1, they are underpricing their wine. They might be doing it for a bunch of reasons (playing the long game) but clearly supply < demand and they could raise prices. And many do and scare off their list members and then become #2.

Most wineries fit into #2. They sell their wine through many channels: email list/direct to consumer, direct to restaurants, wholesale to restaurants, wholesale to consumer/retail, and finally - bulk wine. The pricing on each of those is vastly different, of course.