Piemonte 2014

Looking ahead to 2014, what are people’s opinions on the vintage? Seems like the reviews have substantial variability, especially in Barolo, with many estates not bottling all their wines. Barbaresco may have fared much better. Has anyone tasted any individual producers and can offer some feedback? I’m new to the region, and bought some 2013s but deciding whether to sit out 2014 and save room for 2015 and 2016…

Thanks!

I tasted several 2014 Barbarescos at the Produttori in June. They were very fine, and quite elegant. The dancer, to 2013s linebacker.

I am finishing up my report on what I tasted this year. Quite variable, some classic wines, a few gorgeous wines that really show who is rising to the upper echelons of production, and more than a few misses, though most of the great producers did reasonably well in the vintage, assuming of course that you enjoy the style, which is understandably less fruit driven, leaner and more austere.

Ashish - We should all wait for Greg’s report. But, in a nutshell, Barolo suffered two bad hail storms, which did not hit Barbaresco. As I recall, there was less rain in Barbaresco, too. So one would expect more variability in Barolo.

I tasted Cigliuti’s '14s next to their '13s this spring, and the '13s were certainly better, but the '14s were good. That’s the only side-by-side comparison I’ve been able to do. (Judging by Cigliuti’s '16 Nebbiolo d’Alba, that’s the vintage I’m waiting for.)

Please excuse my ignorance Greg, but how do I get your report when it’s finished? Do you sell a subscription to something, or does it get posted on wineberserkers?

Levi Dalton posted some brief notes on Instagram

https://www.instagram.com/p/BjcrVsJHHMq