Flannery Rib Cap Prep

Thanks to this board, I now have a Flannery habit to go along with my wine habit. We are having company this weekend, and I will be preparing what Bryan predicts will be about a 3-pound rib cap, most likely in my Big Green Egg. I have never tried the rib cap before and would be interested in any insights from Flannery-addicted Berserkers.

Easy enough.

Take the rib cap out of the fridge a couple of hours before the intended cooking time to allow it to come to room temp. I leave it in the CryoVac personally. When ready to cook, remove it from the bag and dry off as best possible with paper towels. Then rub on a couple of TBS of EVOO or grapeseed oil. Give it a REALLY good seasoning of coarse salt…more than you think you need since quite a bit will be lost and the fat and richness of the cut needs some extra salt. I like to use Himalayan or Bolivian Rose as they are fractured and adhere to the meat really well. Of course, Kosher Salt will work as well.

Get the BGE up to speed and as hot as you can go. Sear each side of the critter for two minutes for a total time of eight minutes. Remove the cap from direct heat and either convert the BGE to indirect or go inside to the oven. Bottom line is that you want to finish the cap at 350 deg F for around 35 to 45 minutes. I like to pull it out at an internal temp of 130 to 135 deg F and let it rest for a good 10 minutes.

For service, remove the butcher’s twine and cut in one inch pieces. If you want, have some porcini salt to finish the dish with, or make a roasted garlic compound butter.

Good luck and enjoy.

Bill, much obliged. That was exactly what I was hoping for.

Philip, as a life-long aspiring baller, I may just do that!

[drinks.gif]

Like this?

Bill talked me through rib cap prep last Thanksgiving, and ours was simply unreal. And the sauce he suggested… Bill, can you post that here? It was delicious.

If you are looking to be over the top for fat and calories:

1/2 Cup Heavy Cream