Wineries to visit near Cape Town

Hey Everyone,

I’m a newbie to wine and to this website. I’m visiting Cape Town and want to head to Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. I have ZERO experience with SA wines and open to any suggestions.

I’m looking for some recommendations on wineries with excellent wine, great view or ambiance. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

For a great view with good wines (solid, not great imho) go to Tokara and perhaps have lunch out on their restaurant deck. You can see the hills and scenery all the way back to Cape Town on a clear day.

If you want to explore what Pinotage can be then visit Kanonkop. Best producer of Pinotage I’ve ever found. Most bottlings I tasted at the winery had an almost Volnay like nose and presence on the palate.

Klein Constantia is closer to Cape Town but a separate trip by itself. Nice wines especially the Vin de Constance. They have a nice bistro on site if you’d like to make a reservation and do a tasting and lunch event.

We visited more but those are the first three that popped into my head.

Thanks @Joe_Dulworth

Have you been to Leeu Estate?

Nope. Best I can recall off the top of my head we visited:

Stellenbosch
Warick
Kanonkop
Uitkyk
Rustenberg
Tokara
Thelema
Rust en Vrede
Morgenster
Mulderbosch

Franschoek
La Motte
L’Ormarins
Boschendal
Vrede En Lust
Rupert & Rothschild

Constantia
Klein Constantia

WOW you visited a lot of wineries :slight_smile: Thanks for the feedback.
Any favorites from that list?

Favorites

Stellenbosch
Kanonkop
Uitkyk
Tokara
Thelema
Rust en Vrede

Franschoek
La Motte
L’Ormarins
Rupert & Rothschild

Constantia
Klein Constantia

Thanks again!

I’d second Thelema. Stunning location and we had some fantastic wines there, including the Thelema Gargantua Muscadel! So sad we didn’t buy a bottle and bring it home. Do yourself a favor and buy a bottle.