TNs: Pairing Champagne with Black Cat, who woulda thunk?

Yesterday was Merrill’s birthday so on Sunday she had a small party at her home. Party of 8 to be exact. Er€z brought 5 bottles of Champagne and we enjoyed them on the front porch with Crab Cakes, Roasted Peppers, Brie and Toasts. While he expects a 450 word minimum per wine dissertation I am sorry to say that I will fail that exercise. This was our second party of the day so it was more about enjoyment than note taking. Aside from that I am a novice when it comes to sparkling wines. So, with that said…

2002 Pierre Paillard - Green apple and citrus, light floral note and a little bread dough on the finish.

2002 Pommery Champagne Cuvée Louise Brut - very similar profile to the Pailllard for me. Came off a bit fresher with more acidity and a slight bit richer.

2004 Moët & Chandon Champagne Grand Vintage Brut Rosé - Color approaching nectarine skin, not pink, not brick, tinge of orange. Dried flowers, hint of mushrooms on the nose, faint red cherry with an underlying chalkiness kept it very interesting. I think this was Merrill’s favorite.

2011 Ulysse Collin Champagne Les Maillons - From a decanter. The color was pretty dark for such a young wine. More up front fruit than the others, vibrant acidity and a finish laced with caramel/burnt sugar and an oxidative quality.

NV Tarlant Champagne Brut Cuvée Louis - 85% '99 with the remainder '97 and '98. I would have spent more time with this if I wasn’t getting tipsy from the previous wines (not to mention the previous party). Citrus and pear with a very nutty finish.

After the bubbles we retired to the dining room for a meal of Roast Rack of Lamb accompanied by several vintages of Black Cat Cabernet Sauvignon.