TN: Visit to Domaine Francois Bertheau

BURGUNDY 2011 DAY 3: VISIT TO DOMAINE FRANCOIS BERTHEAU - Chambolle-Musigny, Burgundy (18/5/2011)

This was one of the most enjoyable visits of the trip. I have had little experience with the wines of the Domaine, but what little I have had has been unfailingly good, so this visit was looked forward to with quite a bit of anticipation. When we got to the Domaine, it quickly became clear why the bottles of its wines are so rare - the production is tiny. Just 10,000 to 15,000 bottles a year, out of which there are only 1000-1200 bottles each of the Les Amoureuses and the Bonnes Mares. We tasted the 2010 vintage in barrel. A real pity about the tiny production, because these wines were all top-notch, with the Les Amoureuses and the Bonnes Mares both being superlative examples. M. Bertheau himself was a real character. Not loud, but colourful, flamboyant, with a couple of studs in each ear - his wines spoke a lot about him in their floral expressiveness and fine, delicate structure and open, friendly approachability. Yet under all that, there was a beautiful purity of fruit and a serious amount quality. To me, his wines were the very quintessence of Chambolle. This is one domaine to look out for - I can see it becoming a shining star in the already crowded Chambolle constellation.

• 2010 Domaine Francois Bertheau Chambolle-Musigny - France, Burgundy, Côte de Nuits, Chambolle-Musigny