TN: 91 Cardinale [California]

91 Cardinale [California] 13.7% abv. I was putting some wines away, and my hand brushed the top of this – I felt a drop of seepage, so I pulled the bottle and inspected it. Ugh. The top of the foil is a little wet, but at least the ullage is still bottom neck. I’d intended to share this at some older Cab night with oenophiles, but it looks like this won’t be able to wait for that, and this 91 is going to have to be consumed soon, jumping the queue of all the other wines waiting their turn. I have very little experience with the bottling, other than maybe a 2001 at around age 10-12 or something, so I don’t have a sense for decanting/pairing etc. A friend had recently given me the heads up on a local fishmonger who supplies some good local Japanese restaurants, and who will transact with retail customers, if they follow trade rules, so I pick up some high grade ahi, hamachi, and salmon on the way home from the office, to make a sashimi platter for a cold supper on a hot night. With low expectations, I pull the cork (which is soaking wet) with my Ah-so, and pour a glass. The SO looks skeptically at the cork and label and refuses a glass, preferring an icy goblet of sangria, since its 90F outside. Amazingly, the wine is intact, and singing :slight_smile: The color is a dusky garnet, hardly any lightening at the edges, with a nose of sandlewood, blood, saddle, currants. It’s a rich, complex, captivating bouquet. I start drinking a glass as I prep the Nishiki rice, and get the nori out for a hand roll or two. The wine has a super, classic restrained yet long finish. It reminds me of California cabs made with a Bordeaux hand - Laurel Glen, Togni, Andersons Conn Valley, Dominus etc. Now the SO is willing to try some, after the queens food taster has deemed it to be non poisonous! The label doesn’t tell the taster much - just that’s vinified and bottled in Geyserville. There is no mention of what grapes, nor where they are from, but IIRC its so