Margaritas

Incredibly I see that there’s no margarita thread on this forum. With tomorrow being Cinco de Mayo, it seems like an apt time to get a thread going. I myself am basically a complete beginner when it comes to mixing margaritas, but I love drinking a good one, so I’d be quite grateful for any tips at all. What are your favorite tequilas and triple-secs (or other liquers) to use, both for high-end and “everyday” margaritas? Proper mixing proportions? Types of salt? Etc. Looking forward to learning and mixing up some drinks for dinner tomorrow.

I like a 2:1:1 mix, generally 1800 Silver, Cointreau, fresh lime juice, on the rocks, no salt. I’m not opposed to substituting Triple Sec for the Cointreau. Becca makes a lime flavored salt that I use every twice in a while.

just whipped up a batch last night…

2 cups of Key Lime juice (also added about 6 mexican limes and 1 blood orange), 1.5 cups of Reposado Tequila (I used Herradurra), 3/4 cup of Citronage and 1/4 cup of simple syrup (white sugar, water, vanilla bean and lime rinds that were steeped while making the syrup)… turned out quite well.

Nice.

Yeah, I took your idea with the lime and Morgan’s with the vanilla bean, which adds some depth, but is not noticeable… the blood orange is also a nice citrus note

I squeeze mexican limes and sweeten with Agave sweetener. This is the key to a great mararita, IMHO. The right limes and the agave sweetner are 90% of the battle.

After that I prefer Heredura reposado or comparable and Cointreau.

I generally mix 2 parts juice : 2 parts tequila : 1 part cointreau

I’d take Cuervo and Triple Sec w/ lime juice over good tequila and Cointreau with sweet & sour.

I like agave syrup, they didn’t have any at the store (I forgot to pick some up at Whole Paycheck and didn’t want to return since I was already at the liquor store)…so I made the simple syrup instead…but I am more than happy using agave