I'm Close to Giving Up on Southern Rhone [6.14.15 update]

So I’m trying to get in to a nice French mode tonight in preparation for the Oprah-Lance tete-a-tete. I’m thinking tears and emotions, so my thoughts lead me to Southern Rhone for warmth and spice. Unfortunately, it’s really heat. Seems like everything I pop is heat. An '09 is HOT. Pop a '10, and its HOT. Not sure what is going on with my '07s.

[Slight digression as I just spilled a glass on my wife and the couch . . . wow, what a faux pas]

I’m back.

To place things into context, I’ve been drinking Southern Rhones for close to 20 years. I’m a Bordeaux guy at heart (and Northern Rhone and Chinon), but Southern Rhones have always been my go-to daily drinkers. Historically inexpensive; historically decent quality. And food friendly. I’ve always had a soft spot of Gigondas and CDP, too.

[wife just got out of the shower after her wine shower . . . not happy with me]

I bought tons of '07. Not sure what to expect from the luxury cuvees, but I will admit to having enjoyed lots of cotes du rhones from that vintage. Some were ridiculously scaled, but others quite nice.

[wife still yelling at me]

I have not found many '09s or '10s, however, that work for me. Even some of my go-to estates for quality CDRs are too ripe, to extracted, too high in alcohol. Seems likes 15%+ is becoming the norm.

[i think the couch is in bad shape]

I swear this is not a Board zeitgeist thingy; this is me and my palate. I am taking a hiatus from Southern Rhone. I have some of my favorites still on order, like 2010 Pegau, some Ct. Cosme and Clos de Papes, but I’m pulling the plug on any more orders. Perhaps those wines already on order may change my opinion, but for now, I’m just moving on.

Ironically, I think Northern Rhone is crushing it.

Okay, 5 minutes 'til LA tears.

I still love my '01s and older. I pretty much enjoy every bottle I open! I have a few '04s and '06s. Other than that it’s been a pass for me.

I did.