Domaine Michel Sarazzin et Fils Question

I couldn’t find any topics or posts about this small producer in the Côte Chalonnaise. Does anyone have experience with this producer’s wines? CT reviews seem to be quite positive…

2 Likes

These wines are incredible. Go all in. The Maranges, Givry, and even the Bourgogne Rouge all overdeliver.

2 Likes

I’ve only had the Bourgogne VV but is was a QPR superstar. A local supermarket would carry it. With their mix 6 pricing putting it around $18, it was a no brainer. They have unfortunately stripped down their entire wine section and have not carried it for a couple vintages now though.

1 Like

I have been buying since 2014 directly, really good value for money. The white Rully Sans Nom is good. The Givry’s are the strong point, especially the VV and the Darcy. I tasted an aged Givry at the winery like anaged NSG

1 Like

I’ve only had the Givry Champs Lalot and it was well worth the modest price.

2 Likes

Solid producer that is actually quite large by the standards of family owned domaines in the Côte Chalonnaise. Harvesting is by machine, and they are something of a flag bearer client for François Frères, much like the Joblots were, so you can expect some toasty, smoky barrel influence in both colors.

2 Likes

Thank you all, this is super helpful!

Any thoughts on their cremants? I see them around a bit, too. (In the context of cremant de bourgogne, of course, and not necessarily whether they scratch the “champagne itch.”)

Bought a few of the remaining 2020 Sarrazin Givry 1er Cru VV on a clearance sale after reading recommendations in this topic. Not sure when would be a good first opportunity to taste - assuming these are painfully young at this point. At least 2-3 years?

William and @D_Pennet, can you recommend producers of similar quality but with less oak influence?
Thanks in advance.