Cayuse On The Bubble

I have been Buying Cayuse wine since 2009. Had a Bottle years before, liked it, signed up and made list. Here is my Dilemma, I recently tried two seperate 2010S the Armada and God Only Knows. I don’t know if my tastes have changed, but I found the Earthy, Funky smell and taste to be truly overpowering. Not that the wine was Bad, just not what I expected. My problem is this, do I buy my current Allocation (which is alot) and assume I opened too early, or not order and risk getting Kicked off this exclusive list. Any feedback from the Group would be appreciated! Thanks!

Allan, I can’t tell you what to do but what I would say is don’t feel a hostage of any wine. In terms of being dropped or face getting kicked off, IMO, there are more important things to worry about then a bottle of wine or a winery holding you captive to keep ordering. And a lot more great wine out there, too.

You only mention one vintage, two different cuvees. Do you have others you can try to ensure your experience isn’t simply a vintage marker that is turning you off?

Thanks Frank, and Yes I do. I think over the next couple of Days I will sample the 07 and 09 of different cuvees. And your right, there are more important things to worry about!

I made the Cayuse list and never ordered. Just don’t love the wine. The world is filled with delicious (relatively cheap) syrah. I agree with Frank - don’t by because you feel you should!

Michael

I made the list 5-6 years ago, bought what they offered for 2 vintages, I think 07/08. Tried one and it was not in my wheelhouse. Yes, an exclusive list. I dropped off the next offer. as it was just not for me. As others have stated, to many others wines available and if you really want to try more, Winebid has many bottles available to try without being confined to the mailing list.