Bordeaux value wines

I am a complete novice to Bordeaux. I had a few friends over for some steak over the weekend and one of them brought a $12.00 Bordeaux - 2019 La Rose de Virtrac - from the Total Wine at the retail level of my apartment complex. I was expecting a harsh, green wine. I couldn’t have been more wrong. It took a four hour decant to open up, but when it did, it was supple with brambly fruit, violets, and subtle earth and graphite notes, and a shockingly resonant finish. Is this indicative of Bordeaux at this price or did a good vintage just lift all tides? I don’t think I have ever tasted a red wine at this price point that was of such quality. Could find almost no information about this wine or estate online.

1 Like

As someone who was recently in the same boat, I would call it a “gateway” wine, though the vintage certainly helps. It’s a wine that opens your eyes to a style and makes you wonder how high it goes. Unfortunately for the cash-strapped novices, the peak of Bordeaux is pretty high. Not Everest high (Burgundy) or K2 difficulty (probably also Burgundy), but certainly up there.

I recall mine in 2017:
2010 Chateau Larose-Trintaudon Haut-Medoc Cru Bourgeois

I immediately went out and blindly bought a bunch of random Bordeaux in the $20-50 price range and 2013-2015 vintages, knowing nothing about the vintages, appellations, or Chateaux. No regrets, it’s what got me “into” wine.

1 Like

Green Bordeaux in the 2000’s? Harsh (tannins)?

I wish there still were Bordeaux wines that had firm tannins and showed any herbaceous qualities. Haven’t seen one in a long time.

So, yes, definitely indicative of contemporary Bordeaux. The more expensive bottles can have impressive tannic structures, but can’t remember a Bordeaux that had noticeable greenness that wasn’t from the 1990’s or older.

1 Like