Finger Lakes Info Needed

My wife and I are planning to visit the FL’s in late May/June. Looking at various info it looks like we wil be staying somewhere around Seneca Lake. Looking for an upscale place to stay and any must see/do in the region. We are driving up from Maryland and only plan to stay for three nights (it is about a five to six hour drive).

Cheers,
Curt

Curt,
I’m not an expert, but my wife and I had a great time there last year. Came up from Virginia, stayed between Keuka and Seneca for about 5 days.
We are thinking about heading back this spring, and were seeing nice stuff on VRBO.com.
We pretty much stuck around Keuka and the Seneca, but hit some exceptional wineries at each lake. On Keuka, Ravines is a must, but Konstantin Frank is great slice of history if you have the time.
Around Seneca, we were big fans of Herman Wiemar, Anthony Road, Bloomer Creek and Red Newt. There’s also a great distillery on the west side of the lake. (Finger Lakes Distillery, I think.) That’s just scratching the surface. No doubt many more have popped up in the last year or so.
My only other advice would be that the dining options were sparse. We ended up buying some dinner foods at Wal-Mart in Watkins Glen.
We thought it was a gorgeous place with great wine, though. Wish I had bought more while we were there…

Thanks Dave. WIll make a note of the winerys you listed. Looks like will visit around the third week in May. Have no problem bringing a nice takeout back the hotel and opening a bottle of wine to have with it! Again, thanks for the info.

Cheers,
Curt

You bet! I suspect you’ll have a great time. And just to narrow that previous list further (which should also include Shaw), the three that you should absolutely not miss are Bloomer Creek, Weimer and Ravines. Again, not an expert, but we tried to do a lot of research beforehand and grill the local wine folk.
Let me know what else you discover when you’re up there. Hope you like riesling! :slight_smile: