Sugar in pork chop (or any other) brine...

Hello, Food Lovers. I, like many of you, love pork chops. I love them grilled, braised, oven roasted, reverse-seared, etc. With chops, I almost always brine them. Nearly every brine I’ve seen and used for pork has a certain amount of sugar in the brine, along with the usual salt and aromatics. I brined some 1 1/2" chops this weekend that turned out mostly fantastic, but I had a bit of a problem with a slight burning on the outside as I cooked them. I’m positive it was burning the sugar that was in the brine. I almost always (and did this time) rinse my brined chops off thoroughly and perhaps I didn’t do a good enough job this time. With that said, it made me wonder whether sugar is really necessary in a brine like this, and what purpose it serves.

Does sugar, like salt (which, let’s face it, is the one actual critical part of a brine), actually penetrate the meat in the same way? I’m no scientist, but the salt helps denature some of the proteins inside the meat, but I’d imagine sugar doesn’t do anything like that. Does it penetrate in the same manner, but just adds flavor? I’m wondering if I need to keep using sugar in my brines for hot, direct cooking methods and deal with the occasional burn, or if I should just omit it altogether.

I say take it out. I don’t think you need it. I rarely brine pork chops, which we eat at least once a week, but I do brine roasts and never put in any sugar. I don’t know anything about the science, only that our pork chops and roasts come out amazingly flavorful and tender without any sugar involved and we eat a LOT of pork.

Can’t answer any of your questions but I have eliminated any sugar from my pork chop brine and don’t notice any negative impact. Pork chops are the only thing that I still consistently wet brine as I have gone to dry brining most things these days and generally don’t add sugar to dry brine either.