Aeropress - anyone have one?

Yaacov, look away. neener

I got an Aeropress for Christmas for my extended travels. When I go to Europe for work I’m usually there 3-6 weeks, and the apartments I rent always have some crappy drip machines. So this year my wife got me an Aeropress as it’s easy to travel with. In addition, I keep hearing great things about it. Any and all independent roaster I speak with swears by the machine.

Has anyone made coffee/espresso with it? I’ve just cleaned it and followed their instructions, and the result was good, not great, but I’m a noob at this. I found a TON of instructions online, but wanted to hear from my fellow winelover community as well.
Cheers! [cheers.gif]

I have one. Have used it sporadically over the past year or so, with generally average results. Have tried some of the stranger methods online, like turning it upside down, extended stirring, no stirring, etc. Haven’t noticed a huge difference in any of them. Sorry I can’t be more help.

too late.

at least the price was right. and it’s the thought that counts.

i’m a silver lining guy.

merry xmas.

The proper response, when someone posts about their Christmas present [cheers.gif]

Oy vey. rolleyes

I needed something that was portable and made a good cup, and all the reviews and every single independent roaster I speak with swears by this thing. I’ll play around with it more today, as God knows with a newborn I need as much coffee as possible.

I’m sure you can get it right by playing with the grind and timing. I use a single serving french press and a hand grinder for portability.

Grind and temp are key, IMHO. I started to play with dialing that in. One thing I have seen is that a lower temp than typical pour over works better. I was getting better results at 170-175 degrees instead of “just off the boil”. And a much finer grind seemed to do better, but was really hard to push.