DIAM cork retailers and shelf life

I’m going to switch from natural to DIAM 10 corks for my garage project this year, however I can’t find a retailer that sells them in quantities less than 1000. Two questions for you guys:

1. anyone have a favorite retailer that carries DIAM 10? Slim pickings on my Google search, all retailers I have no prior experience with.

2. how long would you expect unused DIAM corks to last if stored relatively cool and air tight? At current production, it would take me about 3 years to go through 1000 corks.

TIA.

I don’t know of any sources for smaller quantities of Diam corks. Regarding storage, I wouldn’t store them more than 1 year. The two issues with storing natural cork is maintaining the humidity of the cork, and preventing mold growth on the cork and esp inside the tiny recesses in the cork. A cork that has begun to dry out will lose some of it’s elasticity, and that’s the entire reason that corks are such good closures. And getting mold on corks can obviously cause bad things in the wine, including TCA (aka cork taint). Diam is slightly different from natural cork, but the same issues apply I believe.

Maintaining the hydration of the corks is done by keeping it in a sufficiently humid environment. Controlling mold growth is done by injecting sufur gas into the sealed bag of corks. This is done every couple of months ususally, I believe. Unfortunately, sulfur gas is something you won’t have access to, as it’s controlled. There might be (probably is?) a simpler solution…not sure what tho.