Terms

Hi,

I’m new to wines in that I’m only now educating myself on terms, the language, how wine is made, the different wine producing countries and their varietals, how to store wine, serve wine…etc.

Was in the little wine shop in my neighbourhood grocery…asked the clerk “What producers do you have?”. I meant which “wine producers” (e.g. Frog’s Leap, Cakebread…etc.). Brands. She told me they carry “…many origins”.

When we’re talking about coffee beens there is a term coffee connoisseurs use…“single origin”. Referring to the single geographical region, or single farm…from where the varietal is from. Is it the same when we’re talking about wines? In this case referring to the country or vineyard from where the varietal is from?

First you used producers correctly, so no worries there.

Origin is tricker since it varies. In general, in European wines you’ll have an indication or outright statement of the region on the label. Sometimes, but not always, the vineyard. Almost never, the grape variety. For example, Brunello di Montalcino is a Sangiovese wine made near Montalcino. Brunello doesn’t mean the vineyard though, it’s a colloquial term for the grape (‘little brown one’, literally, referring to the appearance of the clone of Sangiovese used). A Burgundy will have much more structured information down to the classification.

If you’re just diving in and want general information I’d grab a book like the Oxford Enclyopedia of wine and read or use it as a reference. And, of course, ask here.

Hi Rick,

Good to know. She got what I was referring to (the vineyard). Just wondered how the word “origin” is used speaking vino. I do realize that all wine bottle labels will name the appellation. And I did buy the book you’re probably referring to by Jancis Robinson called The Oxford Companion to Wine. Unless you’re referring to another book.