Reading "Drink This"

First post here! I am very new to wine, in the sense that I have been drinking it casually for several years but have never really learned much about it and was always trying to buy the cheapest decent wine I could. Now being a little older and having a lot more time on my hands, I’m trying to take advantage and learn at least a little bit about it. Husband has always eschewed wine, but has newly been open to trying it a little more too.

I bought several books, but the one that has really been sticking is “Drink this” – a set of chapters organized by grape and with a recommended tasting structure for each grape. I have been finding it super-helpful (very early on in the process – have really only done the Zinfandel tasting but am going to begin the Syrah/Shiraz later tonight) but haven’t really heard or seen mention of the book anywhere else. I was wondering if anyone else has been reading it? Please chime in if so!

I guess I will share the plan for Syrah/Shiraz tonight. Happy to have any feedback or suggestions if you think this is not really the right approach!

First tasting evening:
An inexpensive Australian jammy bottom-shelf Shiraz. Under $12.
2017 d’Arenberg “The Stump Jump” Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia. $9.99
“Here to tell you what Shiraz is like when it gets fully ripe.”

A single-vineyard American Syrah. $15-$30.
Derek Rohlffs Unti Vineyard Dry Creek Valley Syrah 2018 ($17.99)
“It should be very different from the first wine: Drier, more structured, better acidity, more of a pull between different elements in the wine that make it feel taut and lively.”

A Washington State Syrah. $10-$15
2016 Tenet “The Pundit” Columbia Valley Syrah. $17.95
“Washington State Syrah is good because the growing region is cold, like France, but sunny, like Australia.”

Second tasting evening:
A real French Syrah, from Hermitage, Cote Rotie, Crozes-Hermitage, Cornas, or St. Joseph.
2017 Domaine Courbis “Champelrose” Cornas. $39.99