Thoughts on WSET Levels 1-3?

Hi All -

I am new to Wine Berkserkers and interested in taking the next step in learning more about wines and developing my blind tasting abilities.

I do not work in the service industry, and my tasting experiences have been primarily with new world wines (I’m a big fan of Napa Cabernet), but during the pandemic I have been doing more reading (I have the Wine Bible and Wine Folly books and have been binge watching videos on Somm TV).

Question is - has anybody had a good experience with the WSET classes/exams? I live in Chicago and it looks like one could progress in order through the Level 1-3 classes between July and October of this year. Curious if that’s a reasonable goal, and also any other thoughts folks might have on if those classes are worthwhile.

Many thanks!

I have WSET 3, which I took about 15 years ago. Thoroughly enjoyable course with lots of studying and blind tasting on my own and I think it was twice weekly in-person classes (In Toronto, about 35-40 minutes away).
I would seriously look into how you can be grandfathered into at least the 2nd course, if not directly into level 3. Taking level 1 would very likely be a complete waste of time if you have anything above basic experience with wine.
My friend took level 2 (we took 3 together, by coincidence) and at the time he had good knowledge and admitted level 2 was pretty rudimentary for him.