Starting a cellar

Hi All,

I’m new to this gig so bare with me.

I have about a 6-7 case collection of varying treasures I’ve found through my travels and through clubs/lists. Really only for around 18 months have I started collecting.

What I’m finding is that I’m dipping into wines that would be better off laying down for 5-10 years early because I want to drink delicious stuff!

How did you all go from a couple case collection to 50-100 cases whereby you now can drink your wine when it’s had some time rather than grabbing it too early?

Basically, when you didn’t have your collection of wine ready to drink, what was it you were drinking???

1. I drank wine that can be enjoyed young

2. I drank wine that was old when purchased. Not easy, but it is a question of taking opportunities when you see them. For me it was mainky merchants selling wines purchased from old privately-owned cellars they had cleared out - usually cheaper wines past their best, but still interesting and goid to drink. Also over-stocked wine from other winelovers. Older wine is also auctioned in tge UK.

Its been hard for me at the beginning but as you keep buying over time eventually you will build up so that you are not drinking those wines that require some bit of time before drinking. Buy in two, or threes and drink one early but hold off on the others.

Yea I think that’s what I need to start doing. Also - i know the answer is more of a personal financial situation, but I find myself wondering how people afford to buy all of this wine. Do a lot of people buy mailing list allocation and flip for profit and keep what they made a profit on? I probably spend between 5-7k per year on wine and still can’t figure it out. Maybe that amount is too little?