Saké tasting. Brief notes

These are notes from a saké tasting we had last week. I am new to saké, it was a fun introduction. Also found this site for terminology:

All the sakés were served chilled. Am listing these in the order in which they were tasted:

1. Yuho “Happy Rice” Junmai ($29, 720ml). Pretty bouquet, floral…citrusy, soft finish, clean, very good! One of my favorites.

2. Manotsuru “Bulzai” Junmai Nama Chozu ($39, 720ml). Nose of rotting fruit?? [scratch.gif] But drinks better than it smells. Worked with Brie.

3. Daishichi Junmai Kimoto ($29, 720ml). Fragrant nose, rich-tasting, sweet and fruity on the palate but finishes dry. Very enjoyable.

4. Zuikan Junmai (300ml, $12). Banana skin on the nose, clean finish. This is sound, but others are more memorable.

5. Taiheikai “Pacific Ocean” Junmai Tokubetsu ($28, 720ml). Love the nose: honeydew, very fruity. Smooth, light. Good with salty food. Very enjoyable.

6. Fukuju Junmai Ginjo ($36, 720ml). Floral and fruity nose. Medium-off dry at first taste but finishes dry. Good!

7. Kasumi Tsuru Namazake (300ml, $15). Unpasteurized. A seasonal sake, only available from March-June. Great nose of fresh Fuji apples. Taste: silky, delicate and creamy w green apples, cantaloupe and pears. Bought a bottle of this.

8. Konteki “Pearls of Simplicity” Junmai Daiginjo ($39, 720ml). Fragrant, licorice on the nose, finishes off silky. Very enjoyable.

9. Konteki “Tears of Dawn” Junmai Daiginjo ($39, 720ml). Nose of fennel and tropical fruits. Taste: Pears and more tropical fruit.

10. Shin-Rai Junmai Daiginjo ($50, 720ml). Tropical fruit fragrance and taste. Good, but not sure if it’s worth the $$$.

11. Daishichi Junmai Daiginjo ($68, 720ml). Very pure, delicate, melts in your mouth. Silky. Just wanted to inhale this. Of course my favorite sake here is also the most expensive. [shock.gif]