Foursquare Rum 12-Year Private Cask Selection

I really haven’t gotten into rum so far, but I bit on this week’s Total Wine Concierge Sales offer. It’s supposed to be a blend of 3 rums (all 12-yr old) which have been aged for different lengths of time in ex-bourbon barrels and ex-oloroso sherry casks. I hope it has some complexity to it. Anyone have any experience with a similar bottling - or maybe this one?

I’m not an expert on the full Foursquare lineup, but RL Seale (owner of Foursquare and several other brands) is an excellent distiller in general. I quite enjoy their Probitas light rum both straight and for mixing. The only dark/aged rum I’ve had from them recently is the eponymous RL Seale 12 Year. Its quite dry (no dosage, unlike a number of other popular aged rums), with a bit of a pepper/ginger spice to go along with stone fruit and the expected vanilla barrel influence. Since the version you mention has time in bourbon and sherry casks, I suspect it comes out a little more bourbon-like than rum-like, but I also strongly suspect you have a winner there. Those Private Cask bottlings are typically done somewhat “to order” of the selector, so someone from Total Wine may well have had a hand in picking the final assemblage, or they may have just gotten to pick their favorite from 2 or 3 different barrels they were offered.

1 Like

The reviews I’ve read (of the first version) were all positive. Haven’t had anything bad by Foursquare, so I’m sure it’s good.

1 Like

I had the first one they did that was available in WA and it may be the best rum I’ve ever had. Terrific complexity and length. I tracked down a bottle thereafter. Didn’t buy this one though cause I haven’t popped the first and I’ve got plenty of stuff already.

1 Like