Which Scotch distilleries are firing on all cylinders?

BEERserkers and fans of spirits, come on in! Discussion about beer, spirits, liquor - anything beverage non-wine related
RyanC
GCC Member
GCC Member

#1 Post by RyanC » October 17th, 2016, 6:43 pm

I adore single malt Scotch. But I'm a relative beginner and it seems that, more often than not, I read about an exalted distillery that is no longer performing up to historical standards (e.g., Ardberg, Macallan, Springbank...). To me, the Scotch world does seem to be a (highly rewarding yet frustrating) minefield. I'd love to hear opinions about which distilleries with relatively wide distribution are at the top of their game.
C@ughey

jbray23

#2 Post by jbray23 » October 17th, 2016, 8:23 pm

Kilchoman
Isle of Arran

Look for Gordan Mcphail single bottlers.
Jason, back itb

Louis Demers

#3 Post by Louis Demers » October 18th, 2016, 6:34 am

I wonder why you would put Springbank in your example? It is on the spot IMO ( I've been in the scotch world for 15 years now) for most bottling. MacAllan have fallen to the greedy part of the market with their NAS lineup and I have deleted the distillery from my buy list as they are just a bad QPR. If you can get an 18 it is superb. Arberg ain't that bad since Luis Vuitton bought the place but pricier each year.

Top Glendronach (Revival Bottling in peticular) are nice if you like the Sherry finish.

Stay away from Bruichladdich as the boat steers the wrong way since they were bought by Cointreau. If you can grad older bottle jump on them.

It is hard to point you in the right direction as you don't provide styles you like.

That being said there are gems in the G&M bottlings and Douglas Laing The Old malt Cask bottling also.

hope this helps

jbray23

#4 Post by jbray23 » October 18th, 2016, 8:50 am

Yeah, Springbank was a weird throw in, our liquor guy says that it's his #1 distillery for QPR and overall quality.
Jason, back itb

Brian G r a f s t r o m
GCC Member
GCC Member