So I have been thinking Priorat, lets share a bottle on line?!!

I always like coming up with new ideas! Last year on a UK wine forum, we had a weekend when we all tasted and discused the `99 Musar. It was a lot of fun and about 12 participants took part…varying notes and opinions naturally.
Priorat is a wine I have little experience with ( cost might be a factor!) but I was thinking it could be fun to have a general tasting here say one weekend.
There are limited choices out there on the shelves so my suggestion would be to just select one bottle, taste and report here. Maybe there is an enthusiast here on this forum who could possibly guide us in our selection?

I am keen to organise so let me know what you think?

Bob from Alberta.

Great idea, Bob - it’s been a while since we had a virtual offline, and never before with Priorat…

I should be able to source something, so count me in.

Todd, thanks. I like to plan stuff like this.
Over on the UK forum, it is called Open House. Patented as it was my idea first!!!
Perhaps if we go with this, we could decide on a possible title? Do we just go…“Virtual Offline: Priorat” or think of something more chatty/more interactive.

Bob.

The way it typically works over here is that the person who thought of it starts the thread, sets the theme and the weekend/day, and updates the post/thread as needed…go for it

Bob:

I wil suggest sticking to one producer to see the difference between vintages and when do you prefer drinking them or stick to a vintage to see the different styles between producers, grape blends and villages.

Priorat wines are not cheap so you will be spending no less than $30 on the lower end and the upper end could set you back over $300. The majority of wines are in the $75-$125 range.

1998, 2001, 2004 and 2005 are great vintages for the Priorat region. The last two are probably the ones easier to find in the market.