A Corkage Suggestion - Let the Chef Set the Corkage Based on the Bottle

The Mario Batali $50 corkage thread got me thinking about this. Instead of having a flat rate for all corkage, why don’t restaurants just set the corkage fee based on what you’re bringing in. If you’re bringing in a bottle of 1982 Latour, they can waive corkage. If you’re bringing in a bottle of Kendall Jackson, they can charge you $100.

If I’m a chef at a sexy restaurant, I’d love for people to think that my food is the kind of food that goes with a 1982 Latour. I’d love for people to be seen drinking that wine in my restaurant. I’d want the bottle prominently displayed.

The idea, of course, is to set the price to encourage or discourage certain types of corkage. If, for example, you bring in something that’s on the list, the corkage fee is say 1/2 the price of the list price. The message is: “Don’t bring wine that we carry.” If you bring something cheap or mass produced (Kendall Jackson or Veuve Cliquot), you get hit with a really big corkage fee (Batali’s $50 would do it). Then there’s a sliding scale on the wine. Bring a first growth - fee waived. If you bring something the chef wants to taste, fee waived, but you’ve gotta give the chef a glass.

I’d even encourage people to email me ahead of time and inquire what the corkage fee would be. It’d be a fun parlor game.

I’m not sure it’s a recipe for business success to charge lower prices to people who can afford 1982 Latour.

True. Never mind.

I think setting a high fee would already discourage the Kendall Jackson crowd. Generally, if I’m paying significant corkage (say > $20/bottle) I am going to select a nicer bottle to “justify” the fee.

Separately, I don’t think restaurants make all that much from food. There’s a lot of overhead and not every night is going to be packed.