Air time for some 1995 Barolo

So… this Friday the wine group is tasting 95 Baroli. Our thought is to open them at noon or so, let them slow ox and then decant around 5 or 6pm (tasting starts at 7ish). WE did this for some 1996 red Burgs and they showed quite well. I’ve not touched a 95 Barolo in a long time - any insight into whether this much air is enough? too much? Too little?

The '96 and '97 Barolo that I’ve had recently were much better the next day than the day they were opened. The difference was unlike anything I’ve experienced with any other variety. Every bottle of wine is unique, of course, and I have no experience with Barolo from the '95 vintage, but an extra long decant may not be a bad idea.

I would slow O from breakfast,Rick…but which wines are slated for the evening?

Some nice wines… nothing silly amazing, but…

Aldo Conterno Granbussia’
G Mascarello ‘Monprivato’
Capellano
Elio Altare ‘Arborina’
Elio Altare ‘Brunate’
Luciano Sandrone ‘Le Vigne’
Prunotto ‘Bussia’
Prunotto ‘Cannubi’
B. Mascarello

That’s a very good selection. I think Bill’s recommendation is on target.

I agree, and I also think you’re down-playing some awesome wines here. “Nothing silly amazing”, I’d be interested to know what you silly amazing list would look like. [cheers.gif]

Thanks all…

And Eric - it is a good selection. I just meant there’s nothing monumental like Giacosa red labels, etc in there.

There are no Giacosa red labels in 1995. The only wines I would expect to be much over $100 at this point would be the Monfortino and the Ca d’Morissio from G. Mascarello, both of which are really too young now. A Giacosa white label would be good to add, if possible.

If only we could… none in our cellars, sadly.

I went to a lovely wine dinner in March where we were blind-tasting two bottles of 98 Barolo, identical except one had been slow-oxed and one was pop-and-pour. I couldn’t pick out the slow-ox one, and if there was any difference it was miniscule.