Reason #876 why I'm glad I don't work in a wine store.....

I stopped in a wine store this afternoon to do a little shopping, and while I was checking out, this woman asked for help. The conversation:

Woman: Do you have Malbec?
Clerk: We have several Malbecs, is there one in particular you’re looking for?
Woman: [Pause] Yes, MALBEC.
Clerk: Well, Malbec is the kind of wine, and many different wineries
make Malbec.
Woman: [Longer Pause] Yes, I want a RED Malbec.
Clerk: Oh yes, we have red Malbec, let me show you what we have.

They saunter over to the displays, and he points out a Malbec in particular that he recommends. She shakes her head vigorously, and finally mentions a specific Malbec and asks if they carry that. They don’t, but he points her to a few others.

Oh, and during this entire episode, she’s chatting away on her cell phone about something else…

Bruce

I’m no lawyer, but it sounds like justification for murder-suicide.

Naw…justifiable homicide [snort.gif]

Bruce,

The “Who’s on First” Malbec bit doesn’t bother me at all – it’s the “I must always be on the cell phone during this transaction” stuff that drives me nuts. [snort.gif]

a side note but kinda germane from earlier this afternoon:

me [pouring]: and here’s our 2008 Zinfandel from Lake County.
guest [puzzled with furrowed brow]: hmmm. i’ve never seen a red Zinfandel.

goes with the territory. [cheers.gif]

Move it to Pimps …

A fair time ago, I dealt with a woman on a cell phone in deep conversation and that needed help.

I told her I’d wait for her to get off the phone.

She told her friend on the phone that I was being rude to her because I won’t help her since she was on the phone. Gotta love it!!!

I always tell people to finish their calls and I politely step away, this way it’s more private for them, and more quiet for me!

I have had patients in a hospital bed hold up their index finger to me while on their cell phone!